An Unexpected Journey

"Health is the condition of wisdom, and the sign is cheerfulness — an open and noble temper." – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Just do it

Leave a comment

I start this blog entry feeling like I’m walking into a room that hasn’t been dusted in a while.  As I wander around clearing cobwebs out of my head, I stand here a bit weaker, a bit defeated and definitely more tired than the past summer when I was moving like a freight train towards getting healthier and stronger.

Then came the shoulder injury.  I won’t go into detail (I did that in previous posts, and if you know me personally you’ve gotten the updates).  Needless to say, it’s derailed me quite thoroughly the last few months.  I’ve lost muscle tone, I’ve gained weight and I thought I had been totally fed up with this enough to act a while ago, only to go crashing even deeper into an abyss of non-action.

I think we all have a personal threshold and when we know we’ve hit it, it doesn’t require force (be it physical or emotional) to move beyond it – and that’s where I find myself.  My mistake was looking at everything like a big struggle, or some mountain to climb (pick your metaphor).  Sometimes, you just have to stop thinking so dang hard about things and just DO something.

Starting today, I’ve begun my workout routine again (modifying as necessary).  I’ve also begun recording my food log again, critical steps in any weight loss program.  No grand epiphanies, no big miracles – just simple steps to start things over again.

Hang in there dear readers, more updates to come!

Author: bensonyee

Much to his surprise, Ben Yee was born in New York City in 1975 and grew up along the pizzeria lined streets of Brooklyn. His greatest treasures are his friends and family and he is on a constant quest to improve himself. Ben works at Pfizer, Inc. and currently resides in New Jersey with Rhino, the mighty cat. If anyone thinks that writing a brief bio in the third person is strange and silly, you're absolutely right.

Leave a Reply

